Standards of Child Advocacy Centres

There are ten standards a Child Advocacy Centre must implement to receive accreditation:

  1. Multidisciplinary Team (MDT): including representation from Child Protection, Mental Health, Medical, and Child and Family Advocacy.
  2. Cultural competency and diversity: policies, practices and procedures that are culturally competent i.e. appreciating, understanding and interacting with members of diverse populations within the local community.
  3. Forensic interviews: neutral, fact finding and coordinated.
  4. Medical evaluations: specialised medical evaluation and treatment as part of the Child Advocacy Centre MDT response.
  5. Therapeutic Intervention: specialised mental health services as part of the MDT response at investigation and throughout subsequent legal proceedings.
  6. Child and Family Support / Advocacy: as part of the MDT response focussed on the needs of the child and family.
  7. Case Review: team discussion and information sharing regarding the investigation, case status and services needed by the child and family.
  8. Case Tracking: system for monitoring case progress and tracking outcomes, suitable for all team components.
  9. Organisational Capacity: a legal entity responsible for programme and fiscal operations, basic administrative practices.
  10. Child-Appropriate/Child-Friendly Facility: a comfortable, private setting that is both physically and psychologically safe for clients.



  • Telethon
  • Lotterywest
  • WA Police
  • Datacom
  • Azure Capital